Anne and Gary's
Mid-Century Modern Home

About Us

Ann and GaryWe are Anne and Gary Olson, and this blog is about the renovation of a modest Mid-Century Modern home we bought in La Grande Oregon in the autumn of 2006.

Both of us are fascinated with the “futuristic” design of this 50+ year old house. Our goal is to retain the essential character of this wonderful house without turning it into a museum piece.

Our other goals are to renovate using green principles and to incorporate the use of solar technology.

Not surprisingly, we both share a love of old houses, home renovation, gardening, and Oregon.

Anne grew up in La Grande and is excited at the prospect of returning home. She is the true gardener of the family and loves plants and flowers, both the indoor and outdoor varieties. She also has a strong interest is house design and architecture.

Gary grew up in Portland and has only recently learned to love La Grande. He enjoys vegetable gardening, building garden structures, and doing anything that involves digging holes. His hobbies also include web design, Linux, podcasting, and building computers. Although this blog is a joint project, Gary manages its technical aspects.

We see our blog as a tool for connecting and sharing information with like minded housing buffs, the Mid-Century Modern movement, alternative energy advocates, and the good people of La Grande.